HomeAwards/ScholarshipsOncology Nurse of the Year

MDONS Oncology Nurse of the Year and
Advanced Practice Nurse of the Year

Chapter Virtual Community Outage

The ONS Chapter Virtual Communities are experiencing a login outage.
If you need urgent access to an area of the site you are unable to access, please contact chapters@ons.org
Thank you for your patience!

Oncology Nursing Society

Metro Detroit Chapter 


Consider nominating one or more nurses for either the

MDONS Outstanding Oncology Nurse or the

Outstanding Oncology Advanced Practice Nurse (APN)

of the year award by completing the nomination form. 


Eligibility Criteria:

  • Nominees must be MDONS members.
  •  Nominees must have a minimum of two years of oncology nursing experience.
  •  Outstanding Oncology Nurse Nominee must be a registered nurse (BSN not required).
  •  Outstanding Oncology Advanced Practice Nurse must have a Master’s Degree in Nursing. 

A letter of support from staff, colleagues or administrators must accompany the application.

Letters of support should include the following information: 

1.    Describe the Nominee’s involvement with cancer patients and their families/friends.

2.    Comment on the Nominees clinical skills.
The APN candidate includes critical thinking, clinical judgment and knowledge, and advanced assessment skills.

3.    Provide examples of ways in which the Nominee has served as a role/mentor to staff and colleagues.

4.    Comment on the Nominee’s interpersonal skills.

5.    Describe the Nominee’s involvement in workplace committees. Include ways in which the nominee has served as consultant or case manager, where applicable.  

Application deadline: April 15

Past Recipients

2015 Gayle Groshko, ON

         Jeanne Parzuchowski, APN

2014 Alicia DeCaria, ON

        Heather Lowry, APN

2013 Carol Strong (OCN)

2009 Lucy Praudzak (ON)
2008 Angela Maynard (ON)
        and Lisa Zajac (APN)
2007 Rosanne Ososki (APN)
2006 Rita DiBiase (ON)
        Kathy Blazoff (APN)
2005 Susan Wozniak (ON)
2004 Lisa Zajac (ON) and
        Sue Brooks (APN)
2003 Carol Sullivan (ON) and
        Joan McNally (APN) +
        Lifetime Achievement Award
2002 Mary Ann DuCharme (ON)
        and Linda  Vanni (APN)
2001 Pat Abele (ON) and
        Ruth Chaplen (APN)
2000 Pat Romanko (ON) and
        Rita Dundon (APN)
1999 Rita Hadley (ON) and
        Sue Smedley (APN)
1998 Donna Hagg (ON)
        Mary Gerlach (APN)
1997 Mary Connell (ON) and
        Deb Ward (APN)
Up to 1997 there was only the Oncology Nurse of the Year award. The advanced Practice Oncology Nurse of the year award was first awarded in 1997
1996 Mary Canaday and
        Jane Hornick
1995 Linda Filipczak and 
        Laura Oldenberg
1994 Sharon Prokop
1993 Carole Bauer and
        Cynthia Marsack 

Send the completed applications for 2016 to:

Pam Laszewski at  Email:  laszewsk@karmanos.org 


Unable to download the applications here?  Please contact us to mail or fax you the scholarship applications.  Please email us at:   laszewsk@karmanos.org to request any of the listed applications or to nominate one of your admired peers for the OUTSTANDING Oncology and/or Advanced Practice Oncology nurse awards